Eccentricities

It’s been a month or so since I last wrote my thoughts on a Sunday Scribblings (http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com/) topic. My life has been so incredibly busy of late (I wrote about that too.) that I haven’t had the time to engage in one of my favorite past times – my writing – and I have missed it. But, today’s topic is a toughy! I don’t know that I’ll be able to capture it well but I’ll give it my best shot.

The dictionary defines eccentricity as “an oddity or pecularity, as of conduct”. The topic for today centers around that and there are various prompts to help the writer along – admit any eccentricities you might have had, write about eccentric people you may have heard about or know of, and the third one – devise a bunch of eccentricities for fun. Well, I don’t have any eccentricities myself nor do I know anyone that is eccentric, and as far as devising a bunch of eccentricities for me, I don’t know that I can. Let me explain.

When I think of eccentrics, the first thing that comes to mind is very wealthy people…or as I like to say, the “hoity-toity” bunch…that have some kind of weird quirk about them but one that defines them – the old man with the cigar and the bulldog sitting by his side in his commissioned portrait or the lady in her early 60’s with perfectly manicured nails, coiffed hair, and who always carries her Prada bag with matching wallet and cell phone holder. I don’t know anyone like that personally. I’m definitely not of that stature myself nor do I want to be.

It’s funny how I can describe the eccentric vividly but I can’t imagine myself as one. You see, I never want to be THAT wealthy that my wealth defines who I am by what simple quirk I might have. Don’t get me wrong. Would I like to be wealthy? Heck, yeah! Wouldn’t we all? But, if I am ever so blessed to be able to afford nice things, I’d rather not have them. I’d rather spend my money on helping others whether it be through charitable donations, starting a foundation, or just giving financial assistance to my family and friends. I’ve always said that I’d love to be able to spread more than my love around this world. I’d want to do something with meaning. Make my mark.

So, will you catch me as that lady in her early 60’s with the perfectly manicured nails, coiffed hair, and carrying my Prada bag with matching everthing? No. Eccentric, I am not. But now, the idea of eccentricity is stirring thoughts of great storytelling in me and who knows – you just may find a novel written by yours truly with one of those characters in it. That may be the only eccentric I will ever know. 🙂

Until next time…

Smiles,
Lisa (aka TQF)
Comments
2 Responses to “Eccentricities”
  1. Herb Urban says:

    I think there is at least person in all of our lives who finds a particular aspect of our personailities to be eccentric. Perhaps even our lack of eccentricity strikes me as odd. It is all in the eye of the beholder.

  2. Herb Urban says:

    I think there is at least person in all of our lives who finds a particular aspect of our personailities to be eccentric. Perhaps even our lack of eccentricity strikes me as odd. It is all in the eye of the beholder.

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
