Ocean

This week’s Sunday Scribblings (http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com) prompt is so similar to my dream vacation (see – http://quintessentialfeline.blogspot.com/2007/03/my-dream-vacation.html) that I find it difficult to be inspired to write anything different. Then, I thought about it and this is what I came up with – the ocean, in a sense, represents my life.

I have always lived near the ocean. I grew up in Massachusetts and used to vacation on the coastline surrounding Cape Cod where some of the best New England beaches reign and some of the best New England clam chowder is made. There was something about my summers on the Cape. Maybe it was the sunrises and sunsets from the shores or the ferry trips to the Vineyard. But, I always looked forward to those vacations.

From Massachusetts, I ventured down to Florida where we (my husband and I) made our life in the Sunshine state, a state surrounded by water on three sides, and where the long eastern coastline shimmers Atlantic gold. We spent many a Saturday afternoon at Cocoa or Daytona beaches. I loved being that close to the water!

A few years later, we found ourselves in Texas. No ocean but a great big gulf was nearby – the Gulf of Mexico. We used to go to Galveston Island for the day or spend a night or two at Galveston Island State Park, right on the beach where the stars shown brightly at night and the waves crashed while you slept. Oh the tranquility!

Now, we live in North Carolina and I have yet to go to the Outer Banks or the beaches off the coast here too. But, I will make it this summer. I’m longing for a week’s stay at a one bedroom cottage right on the beach and this year, my wish may come true.

You see, I can’t imagine living in a place that doesn’t have direct access to the ocean. I love being by the sea. Ideally, if it were possible, I’d live in a quaint coastal town where everybody knows your name, where you can dock your private boat, and where the ocean would be just feet away. I’d love that!

So, that’s my take on the “Ocean”. In fact, I find myself daydreaming about it as I type.

‘Til next time,
Smiles,

TQF

Comments
10 Responses to “Ocean”
  1. sognatrice says:

    Get thee to the Outer Banks–so beautiful! And thanks for taking us on your ocean (and gulf) ride πŸ™‚

  2. sognatrice says:

    Get thee to the Outer Banks–so beautiful! And thanks for taking us on your ocean (and gulf) ride πŸ™‚

  3. paris parfait says:

    I think you’re very lucky to have spent so much of your life at or near the seaside. As for the summer trip, sounds fantastic!

  4. paris parfait says:

    I think you’re very lucky to have spent so much of your life at or near the seaside. As for the summer trip, sounds fantastic!

  5. Crafty Green Poet says:

    I love the sea and its not far from where I live. Just 20 mins on the train.

  6. Crafty Green Poet says:

    I love the sea and its not far from where I live. Just 20 mins on the train.

  7. gautami tripathy says:

    I stay so far away from the sea. I too think of it often.

  8. gautami tripathy says:

    I stay so far away from the sea. I too think of it often.

  9. Rice says:

    There is nothing as comforting as the sound of the ocean.

  10. Rice says:

    There is nothing as comforting as the sound of the ocean.

Leave a Reply

  • May 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
