In The Kitchen

I wish I could say that I love to cook. Nope! In fact, the very thought of having to cook just makes me want to find something else to do instead. I know it’s because I never took the time to learn how to cook. Not that I don’t know how; just that I don’t know how to cook aromatic scrumptious meals, like the kind Bobby Flay (Food Network) makes. Flay is one of my favorite FN chefs. Last week, he made a New England meal complete with steamers, lobster rolls, and a frozen cranberry cocktail. My! Did THAT look good!!

Back to the topic at hand, so when I saw the Sunday Scribblings (http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com) prompt this week, my initial reaction was, “ooooh…a topic about the kitchen? The very place I don’t enjoy?” but then I got to thinking about the good memories I have of being in the kitchen and that’s where I will draw my writing from.

We had a HUGE kitchen growing up. It was a long room and fairly wide. With it’s size, though, it attracted everyone every single time we had a family get together or neighborhood cookout in the summer or some kind of celebration. You always found our guests congregated in the kitchen. It wasn’t because the beverages or the food were in there, especially when they were scattered about the house. I think it’s because it was the first room of our home and people tended to stay in there once they arrived. It may also be because if the “cook” was in there preparing or creating the meal, well, we didn’t want to not include that person in whatever conversation we were having. Either way, the kitchen in my home was the place everyone congregated in. It brings back happy memories for me.

I also find myself gravitating toward the kitchen when I visit other people’s homes. Probably for many of the same reasons, too. My husband’s Aunt & Uncle live on Cape Cod and they had their kitchen/dining space renovated a few years back. It’s the most beautiful room in their home and the most inviting. It seems every time we go visit them, we end up in that room. It’s the favorite “meeting” place for all of us it seems.

So, though I don’t enjoy cooking, I do love to be in the kitchen…but for the fun, laughter, the togetherness more so than anything else. Maybe some day I’ll learn how to cook like the Bobby Flay’s of the world. Maybe someday…

‘Til next time,

Smiles,

TQF

(image courtesy of: http://www.dream-kitchens.com/exported/french_large.jpg)

Comments
12 Responses to “In The Kitchen”
  1. Jone says:

    Is that your kitchen? Beautiful. I enjoyed reading your post. The kitchen is hte heart of the home.

  2. Jone says:

    Is that your kitchen? Beautiful. I enjoyed reading your post. The kitchen is hte heart of the home.

  3. spacedlaw says:

    Hello there !
    Followed you in the kitchen from sundayscribblings.
    In Italy, the kitchen is the most convivial room of the house. That were the real business is conducted and where things (and meals) really happen.
    N.

  4. spacedlaw says:

    Hello there !
    Followed you in the kitchen from sundayscribblings.
    In Italy, the kitchen is the most convivial room of the house. That were the real business is conducted and where things (and meals) really happen.
    N.

  5. Wenda says:

    Maybe the enjoyment of cooking is, like many fine pleasures, an acquired taste for some. And if you enjoy “aromatic, sumptuous meals” and continue to show it, I hope they will keep coming your way regardless of where you choose to invest your time and creativity.

  6. Wenda says:

    Maybe the enjoyment of cooking is, like many fine pleasures, an acquired taste for some. And if you enjoy “aromatic, sumptuous meals” and continue to show it, I hope they will keep coming your way regardless of where you choose to invest your time and creativity.

  7. paris parfait says:

    Like you, I like to be in the kitchen, but not to cook – unless it’s baking! I do cook, but don’t enjoy it. Thankfully, my husband loves to cook and does so most evenings.

  8. paris parfait says:

    Like you, I like to be in the kitchen, but not to cook – unless it’s baking! I do cook, but don’t enjoy it. Thankfully, my husband loves to cook and does so most evenings.

  9. Regina Clare Jane says:

    There’s plenty of time to learn to love to cook- it’s taken me some 20 years or so but now I am trying new things, having fun with cookbooks, experimenting… I think it just takes time…

  10. Regina Clare Jane says:

    There’s plenty of time to learn to love to cook- it’s taken me some 20 years or so but now I am trying new things, having fun with cookbooks, experimenting… I think it just takes time…

  11. East of Oregon says:

    great post!

  12. East of Oregon says:

    great post!

Leave a Reply

  • March 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
