My Dream Vacation

My take on today’s Sunday Scribblings post (http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com).

I envision myself on an ocean liner, maybe the not world’s largest, but one just as luxurious – perhaps the Queen Mary 2. It’s summer and I’m floating across the Atlantic on the way to new adventures in Europe for four weeks. My cabin is beautifully appointed with only the best cherry wood furniture. The bed ensemble is highlighted in mauve and gold tones with matching lamps on each night stand. There’s a chaise lounge by the slider to the private deck and our bathroom is dressed in stately copper fixtures and marble countertops with a whirlpool tub for two.

We’ve been sailing now for two days and as I sit on my private deck taking in the ocean air, I’m amazed at truly how BIG this world is. Water, water, everywhere. My thoughts drift to life under the sea, the mammals that live and swim amongst the mountains and valleys of the deep Atlantic. It’s a bit chilly on deck, even for summer but I’m loving the tranquility that surrounds me.

This evening we are planning to attend the Captain’s ball. I have purchased a beautiful long flowing white silk and organza gown. It’s our 10th anniversary and we plan to celebrate in style complete with an on-board renewal of our vows just before dinner.

Before we know it, we’ve arrived at Southampton, England where our ship docks early morning as the sun is rising. It takes a couple of hours to disembark between making sure we have all our luggage and have passed through customs. For the next three weeks we plan to travel the countrysides of England, Spain, and France, wining, dining, and dancing with stops in such cities as London, Madrid, Barcelona, and Paris before heading back to America once again on the Queen Mary 2.

This would be a trip of a lifetime. One that I only dream about but one that I aspire to take!

Smiles,

TQF
Comments
13 Responses to “My Dream Vacation”
  1. Kelly says:

    can i come? please. oh please. i won’t bother you. you won’t even know i’m there. well except for those times that i have to ask you for money since i’m broke. but it’ll be fun. i promise.

  2. Kelly says:

    can i come? please. oh please. i won’t bother you. you won’t even know i’m there. well except for those times that i have to ask you for money since i’m broke. but it’ll be fun. i promise.

  3. Jennifer says:

    I know someone who took that journey and loved it! Hopefully someday your dream will come true!

  4. Jennifer says:

    I know someone who took that journey and loved it! Hopefully someday your dream will come true!

  5. Liza's Eyeview says:

    I hope that wish comes true soon! πŸ™‚

  6. Liza's Eyeview says:

    I hope that wish comes true soon! πŸ™‚

  7. Liza's Eyeview says:

    I hope that wish comes true soon! πŸ™‚

  8. paris parfait says:

    Ooh, it does sound like a fantastic trip! Hope to see you in Paris!

  9. paris parfait says:

    Ooh, it does sound like a fantastic trip! Hope to see you in Paris!

  10. Becca says:

    I’ve often thought that travel on the luxiousous ocean liners would have been so glamorous. Today’s cruise ships just don’t seem to have the same cachet.

    You’ve written beautifully about this dream journey, with wonderful use of imagery and details. I could certainly see you there!

  11. Becca says:

    I’ve often thought that travel on the luxiousous ocean liners would have been so glamorous. Today’s cruise ships just don’t seem to have the same cachet.

    You’ve written beautifully about this dream journey, with wonderful use of imagery and details. I could certainly see you there!

  12. Regina Clare Jane says:

    Oh, it sounds lovely! I only hope that one day you can take this dream vacation- and that it would be all this and more!

  13. Regina Clare Jane says:

    Oh, it sounds lovely! I only hope that one day you can take this dream vacation- and that it would be all this and more!

Leave a Reply

  • March 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
