Crush

I smiled broadly when I saw the topic of this week’s Sunday Scribblings (http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com) prompt. I vividly remember my very first crush. Actually, I had two of them. But, one in particular stands out in my mind.

I was in fifth grade and as my bus made a stop on its route, this very cute boy got on. From that point on, man, I was hooked! He was a little taller than me, had brown hair and brown eyes. His eyes are what I noticed first. They were beautiful. Then, I checked out his backside. (Yes, I was in fifth grade and already noticing that part of the anatomy.) His cute butt matched his cute everything. Like I said, I was hooked.

My crush on this boy lasted from fifth to eighth grade and then seemed to dwindle after that year. I can’t remember why but I do remember a very humorous thing that happened at that time, something I will never forget.

Back in the day, girls would spend HOURS on the phone (today, it’s more like on the computer instant messaging but the time elapse is the same). One night I had been on the phone with him for a little over an hour. My mom had been washing the dishes from dinner when I strolled in a bit later.

“Did you and Scott have a nice talk?” Mom asked.

“Yeah, Mom. We laughed and he told me the most ridiculous thing and we argued over it’s answer,” I replied.

“Really? And what was that?”

“He told me that I was a virgin.”

Mom immediately dropped the dish she was washing into the sink water. She stopped what she was doing and turned to me.

“I told him that I was not a virgin, that I had kissed a boy many times.”

She started laughing for what seemed like ten minutes!

“What’s so funny?” I asked.

Mom got a hold of herself and then calmly she asked, “Do you know what a virgin is, Dear?”

I didn’t have to think about it. I just replied, “Yeah, someone who has never kissed a boy.”

“No, Dear, it’s a lot more than that.”

If I remember correctly, that began the embarassing talk of the “birds and the bees.”

Still, I will never forget that crush. I will never forget my mother’s reaction to that one phone conversation that we had. What really amazes me is that my crush lasted four years and in all actuality, I never really got what I wanted out of it. I can’t say this boy turned into my childhood sweetheart. He didn’t. However, it’s a time and a story that not only will I never forget but that I will retell every opportunity I get!

Fun topic this week! ‘Til next time…

Smiles,
TQF
Comments
13 Responses to “Crush”
  1. gautami tripathy says:

    I like the part about mom very nuch. I don’t blame her at all…:D

    gautami
    Painfully yours..

  2. gautami tripathy says:

    I like the part about mom very nuch. I don’t blame her at all…:D

    gautami
    Painfully yours..

  3. sarala says:

    It reminds me of years ago when someone had to explain to me that no, I did not have a bagina.

  4. sarala says:

    It reminds me of years ago when someone had to explain to me that no, I did not have a bagina.

  5. East of Oregon says:

    very adorable story!!

  6. East of Oregon says:

    very adorable story!!

  7. Waspgoddess says:

    Ah, the innocence… You were very lucky to have an actual phone relationship with your crush. I would have failed to communicate in any other way than by giggles on the phone with mine. In fact I think I would be as unable now as I was almost 30 years ago…

  8. Waspgoddess says:

    Ah, the innocence… You were very lucky to have an actual phone relationship with your crush. I would have failed to communicate in any other way than by giggles on the phone with mine. In fact I think I would be as unable now as I was almost 30 years ago…

  9. Liza's Eyeview says:

    That was fun reading about your crush. That prompt also brought me down the memory lane πŸ™‚

  10. Liza's Eyeview says:

    That was fun reading about your crush. That prompt also brought me down the memory lane πŸ™‚

  11. Liza's Eyeview says:

    That was fun reading about your crush. That prompt also brought me down the memory lane πŸ™‚

  12. paris parfait says:

    Cute story about your first crush and your indoctrination into the “birds and bees” tale.

  13. paris parfait says:

    Cute story about your first crush and your indoctrination into the “birds and bees” tale.

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
