Saying GoodBye

I find it hard to say goodbye…to anything. Whether it be a treasured piece of furniture, clothing I haven’t worn in quite some time, an old friend, even an old boyfriend, I find it very hard to bid farewell.

I don’t like goodbyes. I don’t even like saying the word. In conversation, I’d much rather say, “See you later” or “I’ll call you soon” or “Have a good day/evening”. Goodbye just seems so final and I have a problem with finality. Until this week’s Sunday Scribbling prompt on this very topic (http://sundaysribblings.blogspot.com), I never really gave it much thought.

Now, I find myself at a loss for words. I don’t know. Maybe it’s because when a “goodbye” is spoken, I associate it with death – the death of a memory corresponding to the item, the death of a friendship, a former love, or the death of a person. Yet, as a Christian, I also know that death means a new life. So, maybe I should look at saying goodbye as bidding farewell to a new life for that revered piece of furniture, that silky black dress from the early 90’s, or that old boyfriend as he discovers new life with someone else. Maybe there’s a positive in what seems to illicit a negative? You know me, I’m always looking for the positive. πŸ™‚

Interesting topic this week. For now, though, I think I’ll just say, “Have a Blessed Week, Everyone and end as I always do –

Smiles,

TQF
(Photo courtesy of: allposters.com –http://imagecache2.allposters.com/images/pic/14573-POD/1099832~Couple-Kissing-Good-bye-in-Train-Station-Posters.jpg where you can order any poster you like!)
Comments
12 Responses to “Saying GoodBye”
  1. Liza's Eyeview says:

    When I visited around Sunday Scribbligns, yes, there were many godbye associated with “death” in Sunday Scribblings. It’s not all death, but I guess it’s the one of those that sticks well in our mind and soul.

  2. Liza's Eyeview says:

    When I visited around Sunday Scribbligns, yes, there were many godbye associated with “death” in Sunday Scribblings. It’s not all death, but I guess it’s the one of those that sticks well in our mind and soul.

  3. angel says:

    oh boy- that really touched me- on a lot of levels! really nice work.

  4. angel says:

    oh boy- that really touched me- on a lot of levels! really nice work.

  5. gautami tripathy says:

    I relate to it at many levels. Do chk mine whenever you have time.

  6. gautami tripathy says:

    I relate to it at many levels. Do chk mine whenever you have time.

  7. sarala says:

    Well, your goodbye gave me a smile.
    Cheers.

  8. sarala says:

    Well, your goodbye gave me a smile.
    Cheers.

  9. Janie Hickok Siess, Esq. says:

    You have a tender spirit. Sometimes goodbyes are better said so that there is no question about their finality. Sometimes “goodbye” is a word connoting standing up for your own health and sanity if you are extricating yourself from an unhealthy situation. Recently, I extricated myself from an unhealthy, dysfunctional church where evil was dwelling. That was a very healthy goodbye.

  10. Janie Hickok Siess, Esq. says:

    You have a tender spirit. Sometimes goodbyes are better said so that there is no question about their finality. Sometimes “goodbye” is a word connoting standing up for your own health and sanity if you are extricating yourself from an unhealthy situation. Recently, I extricated myself from an unhealthy, dysfunctional church where evil was dwelling. That was a very healthy goodbye.

  11. paris parfait says:

    It’s so true that goodbyes are difficult, but often saying goodbye is the only way to move forward and embrace new hellos.

  12. paris parfait says:

    It’s so true that goodbyes are difficult, but often saying goodbye is the only way to move forward and embrace new hellos.

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
