Chronicles

Today’s Sunday Scribbling post (http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com) required a bit more thought for me than most. I, too, first thought about the C.S. Lewis series, Chronicles of Narnia. It wasn’t until I read the end of the opening post at Scribblings in the defnitions when it mentioned “a book in the Bible” that inspiration struck me!

Today is Sunday. Most Christians spend their Sunday mornings in church getting their weekly feast on God’s Word. Today, as I sat in my church listening to the Pastor speak, his message resonated with today’s Scribblings topic and I found myself even more intrigued by its meaning. I listened intently to the Sermon and when I got home, I just had to check the prompt again to be sure I got my the message right. Then, I checked my Bible to be sure it was all connecting…and it was!

In I Chronicles, it describes in great detail how David conducts his administrative, military, and religious affairs. David has a desire for the true worship of God as he readies himself for the building of the temple. In II Chronicles, it concentrates on the nation of Judah, stressing God’s powerful presence in the lives of the Kings who believe in and obey God’s Word. Even though the people are eventually led away to Babylon, God brings them back. With both Books, the message is all about the importance of worshiping the Lord, making it a priority in your life, knowing that God keeps his promises to surround us with his love in spite of our sin.

Today’s message at church was the same thing. Our Pastor preached on the importance of feeding our spiritual appetites, never losing sight of God’s love for us despite the tests we are consistently given. Pastor chronicled the Exodus (chapters 15-17), specifically the tests the Israelites faced during and after the 40 days. It brought me back to my thoughts on Chronicles.

It’s true. God tests us in so many ways and we won’t pass the ultimate test until we are with him in Heaven. And that’s OK. He is molding us and shaping us to be the image of His Son. As long as we promise to worship, serve, and most importantly, love Him, he will surround us with his love always.

To Chronicle something is to mark a passage of time. Yet to live it is to feel time as it passes, to learn from it, to grow, and to never forget our highest priority – keeping God at the forefront of our lives at all times.

That’s what I got out of this week’s prompt and it’s amazing to me how it came to me not only through the prompt but through church today as well.

One more thought to ponder, after last week’s prompt and my subsequent submission, I had noticed that the particular thought and word of the day (here on my Blog) was in sync with the prompt and I wondered if it was a coincidence. It’s happened again this week – I review the prompt, it gives me something to think about, and then I get the message again through church. No…this is not a coincidence. It’s God speaking. THAT is amazing!

Smiles,

TQF
Comments
14 Responses to “Chronicles”
  1. Frances says:

    Your prompt reminded me of what my favorite Bible teacher always says: Remember this is just a test.
    It is amazing how God speaks to us.
    Thank you for sharing.
    Blessings,
    Frances

  2. Frances says:

    Your prompt reminded me of what my favorite Bible teacher always says: Remember this is just a test.
    It is amazing how God speaks to us.
    Thank you for sharing.
    Blessings,
    Frances

  3. gautami tripathy says:

    Just when we need it, we do get it in form of words. Great post!

    gautami
    rooted.

  4. gautami tripathy says:

    Just when we need it, we do get it in form of words. Great post!

    gautami
    rooted.

  5. Liza's Eyeview says:

    Excellent post on Chronicles. It’s a blessing to read this particular take on the prompt Chronicles. God bless you.

  6. Liza's Eyeview says:

    Excellent post on Chronicles. It’s a blessing to read this particular take on the prompt Chronicles. God bless you.

  7. Janie Hickok Siess, Esq. says:

    There’s no such thing as a coincidence. Your post illustrates that perfectly. Thanks for sharing your experience and revelation.

  8. Janie Hickok Siess, Esq. says:

    There’s no such thing as a coincidence. Your post illustrates that perfectly. Thanks for sharing your experience and revelation.

  9. Becca says:

    It is amazing how words can speak to us at just the right time, and always provide us with something we need to hear.

    I enjoyed your outlook on this week’s subject. Nice job!

  10. Becca says:

    It is amazing how words can speak to us at just the right time, and always provide us with something we need to hear.

    I enjoyed your outlook on this week’s subject. Nice job!

  11. forgetfulone says:

    No, it’s not a coincidence! Great post, TQF! I couldn’t come up with anything last week, and I haven’t tried yet this week. Too many things on my mind right now. You take care.
    D

  12. forgetfulone says:

    No, it’s not a coincidence! Great post, TQF! I couldn’t come up with anything last week, and I haven’t tried yet this week. Too many things on my mind right now. You take care.
    D

  13. Paris Parfait says:

    I’ve found that in life when you need to hear something, the words appear, either through a sermon, a book, a friend, etc. Nice take on the prompt.

  14. Paris Parfait says:

    I’ve found that in life when you need to hear something, the words appear, either through a sermon, a book, a friend, etc. Nice take on the prompt.

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
