Tribute to Martin Luther King, Jr.

“I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: ‘We hold these truths to be self-evident; that all men are created equal.'”

One of the most powerful speeches of the 20th century came from a man that I would call equally so. The impact of this statement, of his own determination to see his words come to fruition, is still felt in society today. Yet, even though so many years have passed since his assassination, we still have a long way to go.

Our founding forefathers of this country made some pretty bold statements –

“All men are created equal.”, the freedoms of speech, the press, religion, the right to bear arms, etc.

All these statements are well and good. I take them for what they mean while others in our society take it to the extreme. Then look what we have as a result – people still are treated unequally; we still have controversy between right and wrong, including how to define that. It’s simple really. Our country was founded on the principals of God. Bottom line. Look at the Separatists, the Pilgrims, the Puritans, colonial societies in general. What was the center of their society? The church. What determined the way of their governing? The church. What was Martin Luther King’s profession? A minister. What was his center? The church.

See? Simple. You would think!

So, today, I acknowledge a man who made a difference, a man who lived his life based on the principal of equality, a man that gave his own life for his beliefs, and I stand up to salute him. Martin Luther King, Jr. had a dream. I hope one day it will come to fruition not just in our society but throughout the world.

May God Bless you all today.

TQF

(note: picture captured from www.jshka.com/images/subjects/social_studies/king_jr_martin_luther.gif)

Comments
2 Responses to “Tribute to Martin Luther King, Jr.”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    Excellent tribute! Hey, how do you put a picture in the text part of your posting? I know I can do it, but I’ve forgotten how. Kudos to my far-away friend. I miss ya.
    Diana

  2. forgetfulone says:

    Excellent tribute! Hey, how do you put a picture in the text part of your posting? I know I can do it, but I’ve forgotten how. Kudos to my far-away friend. I miss ya.
    Diana

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
