Hero

This week’s Sunday Scribblings post centers around the word hero. I’m going to take this from a teacher’s perspective because after all, I’m a teacher and well, I am constantly trying to mold my students’ views of what a hero is.

You see, our smallest children look up to the likes of The Power Rangers, Superman, Batman, Spiderman, etc. Then, around the age of 10 and into their tweens, their hero may take the form of a sports or music star (think Terrell Owens, Jay-Z). For some, this even continues into high school too as the hero is still centered around sports figures or other celebrities. Given the fact that it’s also Thanksgiving week, I’d like to tell you all about a little project my students are working on for the holiday and it just so happens it kinda fits into this category – heroes.

My students are working on “thank you” letters that they will present to a person they are thankful for. They were to really think of their choice and the many reasons why they are thankful for the particular person they eventually chose. I am trying to get my students to think of their blessings, specifically that they are blessed by one or two people in their lives that they should thank this holiday season. Hopefully, each student will realize the person they chose IS their hero.

So, they write the first draft of their letters, have a peer edit them, and I do one last check before it’s written on scroll paper, attached to orange or brown construction paper, and rolled up and tied for presentation on Thanksgiving day.

Many of my students chose their Moms or their Dads. Some chose a past teacher. Others chose a grandpaperent or an Aunt or Uncle. I was amazed that not a single child picked a T.O. or a Jay-Z (they could have mailed their letters off if that’s who they chose).

You may think it’s crazy for me to even assume they would pick a sports figure or a celebrity but it’s not as far-fetched as you think. Most of my students live in one-parent homes, foster homes, with another guardian, have free or reduced lunches, might even be homeless, you name it. And, most of these same kids recognize celebs as their heroes on a daily basis.

It was the goal of my little project to recognize the heroes of their daily lives. I hope it worked. I hope…

Anyway, so when I think of heroes, I think of those who bless our lives. I have many but the three that stick out the most are God, my paternal grandfather, and my husband. I am blessed with these heroes daily.

To all that are state-side – Have a HEROIC Thanksgiving!

Comments
8 Responses to “Hero”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    Great idea Teach! When I wrote my SS, I mentioned that sports heroes, celebrities, and politicians don’t come to MY mind when I think about heroes, but they sure do for our little kids. Way to go Mrs. S’s class – for choosing REAL heroes!

  2. forgetfulone says:

    Great idea Teach! When I wrote my SS, I mentioned that sports heroes, celebrities, and politicians don’t come to MY mind when I think about heroes, but they sure do for our little kids. Way to go Mrs. S’s class – for choosing REAL heroes!

  3. sundaycynce says:

    I think your assignment is a super idea. I also think it is fantastic that none of them selected the sports figures. You have also fostered something that will delight some parents and other positively influential people for Thanksgiving.

    I also wrote in my “Heros” scribbling about how sad it is that students (mine were in junior high)tend to think heros are totally synonomous (hope I spelled that right, it’s after midnight and I ought to be in bed)with superheros. Maybe if mine had come to me after you had them, their “hero” conception would have been more fully fleshed out.

    Keep up your good work.

  4. sundaycynce says:

    I think your assignment is a super idea. I also think it is fantastic that none of them selected the sports figures. You have also fostered something that will delight some parents and other positively influential people for Thanksgiving.

    I also wrote in my “Heros” scribbling about how sad it is that students (mine were in junior high)tend to think heros are totally synonomous (hope I spelled that right, it’s after midnight and I ought to be in bed)with superheros. Maybe if mine had come to me after you had them, their “hero” conception would have been more fully fleshed out.

    Keep up your good work.

  5. pluto says:

    What a neat idea! The very act of writing such a letter may help your students realize how blessed they are to have even one person to say “thank you” to.

    I know kids look up to sports stars and celebrities, but it sounds like your students have enough sense to know that it’s the people walking with them through daily life that deserve their gratitude.

  6. pluto says:

    What a neat idea! The very act of writing such a letter may help your students realize how blessed they are to have even one person to say “thank you” to.

    I know kids look up to sports stars and celebrities, but it sounds like your students have enough sense to know that it’s the people walking with them through daily life that deserve their gratitude.

  7. Jone says:

    Lovely post. I have my fifth graders write a letter in the spring to one teacher that has made a difference in their life.

  8. Jone says:

    Lovely post. I have my fifth graders write a letter in the spring to one teacher that has made a difference in their life.

Leave a Reply

  • November 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
