A Tribute to Red Auerbach

Any Boston Celtics fan would know who Red Auerbach was. The man who guided the Celts to 16 championships, both as a coach and as GM, has passed away at the age of 89.

I was an avid follower of the Celtics in the days of Larry Bird, Kevin McHale, Robert Parrish, Danny Ange. I remember (from the comfort of my own living room) watching many a game played on the historic Boston Garden parquet floor. I remember when Bird retired from the game. To me, that signaled the end of an era, an era that would live on in the form of Red as Celtics GM.

I’m a bit saddened by his death, not because I knew the man personally but because of what he represented to the game of basketball, what his team represented to the city of Boston, and most importantly, because of the value he placed on the game & winning, less on the franchise & money-making opportunities that came with it as the years progressed. In an age where the bottom line is more important than just playing for a cohesive championship-performing team it’s nice to know that Red stood for so much more.

Rest in peace, Mr. Auerbach. You will be missed!

TQF

Comments
2 Responses to “A Tribute to Red Auerbach”
  1. nike says:

    Red was my idol . Even before I knew all the names of the great Celts players players , I always admired his wonderful feats and the building of the real dynasty in sports history . Great post abt a great man !

  2. nike says:

    Red was my idol . Even before I knew all the names of the great Celts players players , I always admired his wonderful feats and the building of the real dynasty in sports history . Great post abt a great man !

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
