A Bit of Pop Culture

Just visited my friend, Michelle’s Blog – The Pup’s Perspectivehttp://thepupsperspective.blogspot.com/index.html. She’s a new blogger and needs some encouragement. Y’all need to go visit! She writes from the perspective of her dog, Maggie…and it’s so cute!! Check it out when you can.

On to the topic at hand…the Wave. So…did y’all know that the Wave turned 25 today? According to AP Sports Writer, Janie McCauley, a self-proclaimed cheerleader by the name of Krazy George introduced the Wave some 25 years ago –

“Krazy George Henderson has spent the last quarter-century trying to persuade everyone that he debuted the “Wave” during an Oakland Athletics‘ playoff game against the Yankees — not those Washington football fans who claim the Huskies first performed the now famous cheer.”*

Huh. How funny is that? Who KNEW? I don’t know how many sporting events (or concerts even) that I have been to where I have personally participated in the Wave and I don’t think I ever really gave it’s origin much thought until I saw this article today.

As a kid, I couldn’t wait to “do the Wave” at a Red Sox game at Fenway on a warm summer evening. For me, that’s what made the baseball game so much fun to be at – the Wave. Of course, I’m much older now and don’t quite get into it as I used to but still, this was a fun little factoid to read about. Brought back many a memory…

I’m heading to a Canes game Saturday night. I just might have to partake in a “Wave” that evening for old times sake. πŸ™‚

TQF

*quoted from today’s Yahoo! Sports feature – http://sports.yahoo.com/mlb/news?slug=ap-thewave-25thanniversary&prov=ap&type=lgns

Comments
2 Responses to “A Bit of Pop Culture”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    I had no idea the wave had been around 25 years. My, how time flies! Was I really 16 when it all started?

  2. forgetfulone says:

    I had no idea the wave had been around 25 years. My, how time flies! Was I really 16 when it all started?

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
