Let’s Talk Fantasy

NO! Not THAT kind of fantasy. I mean the kind that every true football fanatic looks forward to each NFL season. Yep, you guessed it – Fantasy Football.

I’m addicted! I will be the first to admit that I don’t completely understand the game. I mean, I understand what each “down” means, how to achieve a touchdown, that sort of thing but as for the play calls…no, I’m still figuring those out. I just know that I absolutely LOVE it. I anticipate the NFL season every single year. This year was no different. However, this year, my husband talked me into joining his fantasy football league. At first, I was like, “Ok, dear. Sounds good. I’ll give you a list of my players, you set up the team and I’ll monitor it every now and then.” Ummm…WRONG! I quickly found out it was so much more.

First, we had a “Draft Day”. Yeah…a “real” draft day where the entire league (that he set up) got online at 9pm one evening and began drafting our players in rotation. Prior to that, I had to analyze what players I really wanted on my team. I could pick the “players to watch” and when it came my turn to actually select them, I had to hope they weren’t already snatched up by an opposing team in my league. Once the “draft” was completed, we waited until the actual season started.

We are now in week 5. My record isn’t very good. It’s not bad…but it’s not super great either. I have some fantastic players on my team – Tom Brady as starting QB, Matt Hasselbeck as alternate QB, Corey Dillon (RB), Santana Moss & Deion Branch as WR’s, and a few more greats.

I find myself anticipating each weekend as I strive to pick the best active players for my team for Sunday. I find myself “refreshing” the screen every 30 minutes or so as I sit with my laptop on….well…my lap and watch the games at the same time. Then, of course, I end up talking smack to other team owners as the day goes on. It’s an adrenaline rush each Sunday!

This week, I’m in second place in point standings. Record still not so good but boy am I having fun!
Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
