Karma, Coincidence, Plan, or Other?

OK…week 2 of the 06-07 academic year has ended…and not without another complication.

Yesterday, just moments after leaving the school, one of our buses flipped over as the driver tried to avoid something in the road. I’m relieved to report there were no major injuries as all passengers, as well as the driver, were taken to the hospital to be checked out. Some were taken by ambulance while others road another bus to get there. It was a frightening experience nonetheless.

I was in my classroom trying to catch up on some things when the accident occurred. I just happened to go down to our main office when I was informed. Immediately, I offered whatever assistance I could and needless to say, I didn’t leave work at the time I had expected but I know that the services I provided were appreciated.

As I drove home, all I could do was think about the accident, the children (some of which are ones I teach), the driver (who I know personally), and the…karma?

First, let me just say that I am a true believer in God. I know that He has a plan for each one of us and our days are just another piece to his puzzle. With that said, let me just run down how our last two weeks have been.

Our students are dismissed at 3pm in two bus loads. Our second load has been so late that in some cases, they don’t depart the school until as late as 3:45 and some of those children don’t arrive home until after 5pm.

Lunch lines have been off the charts with the influx of students and the lack of technology in which to facilitate a smooth transition between lunch schedules. We have one cashier and we are looking to get another. Our class is supposed to have lunch from 12:10-12:35. Most days, my last student is just sitting down at 12:35.

Meeting after meeting after meeting….

Trailers vandalized over Labor Day weekend.

Now, this.

See what I mean? What a start to the school year! Is it Karma? Is it a coincidence (we have a new principal and this is her test!)? Is it God’s plan (so we can all come together and see how strong we are)? or something else?

I choose to believe God is speaking to us, teaching us our own strengths, and helping the school & community to come together.

Still, I can’t ignore that it’s been a trying two weeks. I have never been so tired! I slept from 10pm-11am last night into the morning. I am physcially and emotionally exhausted from it all and I’m praying that things will improve. I know that they will. I just hope for sooner rather than later.

TQF

Comments
2 Responses to “Karma, Coincidence, Plan, or Other?”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    Wow. And I thought I had a bad day. This helps me put things into perspective.

    God has a plan. Not everything that happens is his work, but it all has a place in the big picture.

    Luckily, no one was hurt, but it sounds like there are some trials going on at your school, and I will keep you all in my prayers. Love ya, and keep your chin up.

  2. forgetfulone says:

    Wow. And I thought I had a bad day. This helps me put things into perspective.

    God has a plan. Not everything that happens is his work, but it all has a place in the big picture.

    Luckily, no one was hurt, but it sounds like there are some trials going on at your school, and I will keep you all in my prayers. Love ya, and keep your chin up.

Leave a Reply

  • September 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
