It’s unusual for me…

….to post on a weekday. I’m usually busy planning the next day’s lessons, responding to parent concerns, driving the 4o mins from work back home each afternoon, and then relaxing once I get here. Today, has been a strange day and I just had to put my thoughts down.

Why do people have to be so cruel?

The day started out stormy and oh so rainy. The drive into work was horrible. When I finally arrived, I had mere minutes to check in, grab whatever was in my mailbox, and book it to class to meet my 26 cherubs so that I could start the day. On the way there, I was informed of the cruelty of some of the individuals that surround our school.

Two of our mobile classrooms were vandalized over the long weekend. One heavily; the other just barely. Whether the damage was extensive or just scraped the surface, the bottom line is the instructor who makes their daily home away from home in either unit was violated. Personal items were damaged. The care put into making the room a safe & welcoming place was completely destroyed. Both individuals were fighting against everything to keep their own composure too.

I was sad today. I was discombobulated with the influx of additional students to make accommodations for those two teachers but I was willing to do whatever it took to bring their own sense of normalcy back. I don’t even think I took one potty break today.

Again, I ask, why do people have to be so cruel? What happened to the tradition of respect?

One thing I so love about the South is that tradition – the “yes, Maams,” “no, thank yous,” the need for children to learn to respect their elders and exemplify that. We, as southern teachers, work so hard at instilling those values into the children we teach because for the most part, we know that many of them aren’t getting it at home. I believe we are successful at accomplishing that goal but then you have the one or two that need to be defiant, that need to deviate from the norm and prove something. That’s what happened today and I find it so sad.

So, I sit here tonight still shaking my head wondering if I am making a difference to the children in my charge while at the same time thinking of all the personal items that I have placed in my classroom so as to feel kinda like home and feeling as if I will take the step at removing most of them by the coming weekend. And, I find THAT sad.

I wish I could feel that I am making a difference but tonight, I don’t feel like it at all. Maybe a little prayer and a good night’s rest will change my mind. At least I hope it will.

TQF

Comments
2 Responses to “It’s unusual for me…”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    I’m sure you make a difference in your children’s lives every day. Don’t let a few bad apples spoil your cobbler! I hope the prayer and rest fortified you. You are a strong lady. Do they know who caused the vandalism? That violated not just the teachers whose classrooms were destroyed, but their students as well. And yes, that is sad. How could someone be so mean? Just remember, not all kids or teenagers are like that. We are basically good, all of us, and that is what has to keep us going.
    D

  2. forgetfulone says:

    I’m sure you make a difference in your children’s lives every day. Don’t let a few bad apples spoil your cobbler! I hope the prayer and rest fortified you. You are a strong lady. Do they know who caused the vandalism? That violated not just the teachers whose classrooms were destroyed, but their students as well. And yes, that is sad. How could someone be so mean? Just remember, not all kids or teenagers are like that. We are basically good, all of us, and that is what has to keep us going.
    D

Leave a Reply

  • September 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
