Fortune Cookies

“Make the choice to be happy.”
That’s what my “fortune cookie” would say.
As a child growing up in Massachusetts, I can remember when it was “take out” night, usually Friday’s because neither of my parents had the energy or even wanted to cook. I remember looking forward to this night, especially when we’d get Chinese food from the little Chinese restaurant up the street, The Double Dragon. (Now, doesn’t THAT sound Chinese?!) I also remember how excited I was to eat up all of my portion of the Pu-Pu platter for four that we’d get just so that I could get to that fortune cookie.
Then, I got older and I realized that the fortune cookie was just another marketing tool to “promote” Chinese food more than it ever was about a true fortune. Today, I still look forward to that fortune cookie…cuz they do taste so good…but, I don’t believe that what is says will come true or will better my life, unless it’s a saying that I can adapt to it. Like the one I have above.
Everything we do is a choice. Everything we decide to feel is a choice. Our attitudes are everything. We can CHOOSE to be happy or we can CHOOSE to be resigned, depressed, sad, the complete opposite. I, personally, choose to be happy. Sure, I have my moments but that’s all they are – moments. I don’t let them overtake my life and if I can do something about them, I do because ultimately, and I’ll say it again, everything we do is a CHOICE.
I hope my motto “Make the choice to be happy. encourages others to do so. Life is too short, not to be.
Be happy! That’s my Fortune Cookie.
TQF
(This topic comes from today’s Sunday Scribblings at http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com)
p.s. I apologize for the presentation of this post. It is in paragraph format. It just won’t publish this way for some reason???? UGH!
Comments
6 Responses to “Fortune Cookies”
  1. paris parfait says:

    Lovely motto – I second that – and lovely post!

  2. paris parfait says:

    Lovely motto – I second that – and lovely post!

  3. DonPare says:

    Yup, everything is a choice!
    Where in MA did you grow up?
    The Pu pu for four was what my family always got too…

  4. DonPare says:

    Yup, everything is a choice!
    Where in MA did you grow up?
    The Pu pu for four was what my family always got too…

  5. Pacian says:

    That’s a motto-and-a-half, I must say.

    πŸ™‚

  6. Pacian says:

    That’s a motto-and-a-half, I must say.

    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

  • September 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
