"The Monster…"

….was never under my bed. My monster was the Abominable Snowman in Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer. As a child, every Christmas I would wait anxiously for the annual Christmas specials to come out, even Rudolph. Yet, I will never forget that every single time the Abominable Snowman appeared for his first scene, I’d hide behind the swivel chair, underneath a blanky, put a pillow in front of my face to cover my eyes, or at the worst, leave the room entirely (but only until the scene changed, of course.).

For me, I never believed in Monsters. I’d watch King Kong and be at the edge of my seat. I’d catch Jaws as a TV “Movie of the Week” and still watch it. I wouldn’t say I love being scared but I would definitely say I love the idea of suspense and the rush your body feels when you see something suspenseful (like a good movie or TV show).

So, my “Monster” was the Abominable Snowman. Come to find out, the creature ended up having a heart of gold. Hmmm…I wonder if some “monsters” actually do…

TQF

(This topic comes from a new Blog I recommend – http://www.sundayscribblings.blogspot.com/. Today’s topic was Childhood Monsters or just Monsters and my post was the first thing that came to mind. I may try this each Sunday. It’s fun!)

Comments
10 Responses to “"The Monster…"”
  1. Chelle Y. says:

    I was afraid of him too! My sister and I were talking about that movie last Christmas and she felt the same way. Now, I watch it, and think he is so cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Chelle Y. says:

    I was afraid of him too! My sister and I were talking about that movie last Christmas and she felt the same way. Now, I watch it, and think he is so cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. megg says:

    Hi there – so glad you scribbled! Can you send me the link that you found Sunday Scribblings on? I’d love to see where we were mentioned but I can’t find it on the financial yahoo site – thanks!!

  4. megg says:

    Hi there – so glad you scribbled! Can you send me the link that you found Sunday Scribblings on? I’d love to see where we were mentioned but I can’t find it on the financial yahoo site – thanks!!

  5. paris parfait says:

    I left a comment, which seems to have disappeared. I don’t think all monsters have hearts of gold – on the contrary, many seem to have black hearts, filled with negativity. I’m glad the Abominable Snowman was the only monster that plagued your childhood.

  6. paris parfait says:

    I left a comment, which seems to have disappeared. I don’t think all monsters have hearts of gold – on the contrary, many seem to have black hearts, filled with negativity. I’m glad the Abominable Snowman was the only monster that plagued your childhood.

  7. paris parfait says:

    I’m not sure about monsters and their hearts of gold – some of them seem to have black hearts, full of negativity. But I’m glad the Abominable Snowman was the only monster that haunted your childhood.

  8. paris parfait says:

    I’m not sure about monsters and their hearts of gold – some of them seem to have black hearts, full of negativity. But I’m glad the Abominable Snowman was the only monster that haunted your childhood.

  9. DJPare says:

    All monsters do, once you take away their teeth… ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. DJPare says:

    All monsters do, once you take away their teeth… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

  • August 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
