Positive vs. Negative

No, this is not some science test or some direction as to how to place the batteries in the flashlight. This is a post about the good times of late and the little things that have put me in a bummed out kinda mood today. Let me start with The Good Stuff. 🙂 (Did y’all recognize that as the title of a Kenny Chesney song??)

The Good Stuff

Well, the Kenny Chesney concert has come and gone but not before leaving me with some fantastic memories. My husband and I had a truly fabulous time! We tailgated before the game and hung with two very nice couples. We drank beer, ate some good snack food, and just overall enjoyed their company. The concert itself was exactly as I had anticipated it. Kenny came out via a hydraulic platform that was strategically placed in the middle of the audience as he sang his hit Summertime. Later on, Uncle Cracker joined him for their duet of “When the Sun Goes Down” and a cover of Kid Rock’s “Cowboy”. Mike really got into the concert at this point! LOL!! It was a fantastic night; had me singing and dancing with the best of them, so much so that I slept until 11:30am the next morning! I never do that…

Then, this past weekend, my hubby and I went camping at Kerr Lake in central NC where it borders Virginia. The weather couldn’t have been more perfect – not too hot during the day or too chilly at night. It was just right. We didn’t even need the fly for our tent. It was like we were sleeping under the stars. We fished (actually, he did most of the fishing), sunbathed (and yeah, that was mostly me), I finished the book I was reading (Dan Brown’s, Deception Point; highly recommended, btw), and swam. Two days of a short vacation and well worth the trip!

The “Not So” Good Stuff

Well, tomorrow I return back to school for the 06-07 academic year…and I’m sad to say but I’m not looking forward to it. I’m thankful for the school I work at, the people I work with, and even the children I teach. BUT, I have such a hard time with the educational system here in Carolina. It’s just so behind the times for the students AND for the teachers. I try to keep a good face about it and remember that teaching is a gift of mine, that I’m working with God’s children, molding and shaping them, which I am grateful I get to do. But…….I have to pray each day that my attitude improves. That’s sad, I know! Trust me. I know!!

This next one is so miniscule that I don’t know why I’m even posting it but it is something that matters to me just the same. It’s all about General Hospital. Yeah, the TV Soap Opera. I know. I know. You’re probably saying, “You have GOT to be kidding me!” The thing is, I’m not. Every person has a passion about something…or about a bunch of things. I have two – writing and anything to do with entertainment. Break down the second one into categories and it falls under music, movies, & TV. Break it down further and General Hospital ranks right up there for me.

Lately, the show has just plain ole STUNK! GH is the one place I go to escape reality each afternoon. When I get home from work, I go right to my DVR and watch the show, kinda like I used to do when I was a kid only then it was Guiding Light, eating oreos & drinking milk while watching that with my grandma.

Over the last four months…most of the summer, actually…the show has had more twists in turns that it’s worse than even the scariest of roller coasters, at least for this fan. I usually don’t get sick on roller coasters cuz I love them. Same with GH. Lately, though the regression of storylines is making me almost lose my lunch (or breakfast or dinner – LOL!).

You might say, “Well, then stop watching it!” Yeah, I could do that but I don’t want to. Instead, I’m writing letters to The Powers That Be and letting them know just want I think. You see, GH is my one and only vice. It could be worse – I could be addicted to drugs, alcohol, sex, co-dependent, what have you. Nope! I just love my GH and I want it to improve. So, sue me (well, don’t really)!

Positive vs. Negative. There is more positive then negative in my life that’s true. Today, though, I have thoughts on both and, for those that read this, thanks for putting up with my rambling.

Off to enjoy my last day 21 1/2 hours of freedom. Hmmm…I think I feel another letter coming on….

TQF

Comments
4 Responses to “Positive vs. Negative”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    I also meant to say that you are so lucky! I got to see Kenny C in concert about four years ago – well – he’s much better now, I’m sure, and he was great then. My dh might take me again if I ask and we can get the weekends right with the kids, or hope it’s not on a weekday, but we’ll see.

    Also just wanted to say I sure do miss you and your zest for life!
    D 🙂

  2. forgetfulone says:

    I also meant to say that you are so lucky! I got to see Kenny C in concert about four years ago – well – he’s much better now, I’m sure, and he was great then. My dh might take me again if I ask and we can get the weekends right with the kids, or hope it’s not on a weekday, but we’ll see.

    Also just wanted to say I sure do miss you and your zest for life!
    D 🙂

  3. forgetfulone says:

    I couldn’t agree more that GH has been pitiful lately! On the rare occassion I get to watch, I don’t even want to! It’s as if I’m watching someone else’s show.
    D 🙂

  4. forgetfulone says:

    I couldn’t agree more that GH has been pitiful lately! On the rare occassion I get to watch, I don’t even want to! It’s as if I’m watching someone else’s show.
    D 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • August 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
