I Needed To Hear It!

So…I was invited to attend church with friends today. Actually, both my husband and I were but he couldn’t make it. I went anyway. I met my friends, sat with them, shared hugs & praises, and all that. The beginning of the service was really touching. The song “American Soldier” was sung by the praise team amidst scenes of our men and women in the armed services as displayed on the two jumbo screens in the front of the sanctuary. I got all teary. BIG surprise! But, it was the sermon that moved me even more.

I attended a local non-denominational church called Cleveland Community Church (http://www.c3church.org). Pastor Matt Fry (http://www.mattfry.com) delivered a sermon today that was just so fitting to my life right now. There were three poignant things that just stuck out at me – (1) Rejoice in every day, (2) Trust in the Lord, and (3) Today is a gift.

Now, all of them fit me for one reason or another. I do appreciate every day. I do recognize each day as a gift. I definitely trust in the Lord. In fact, I trust in Him so much that if this QDR thing works out (see previous week’s blog), I’ll know it’s because He wanted it for me. I’ll get to that in a minute. The one thing I don’t do as much as I should is rejoice in every day.

When I get up in the morning, I thank God for the blessing of being able to just get up, to stretch, to breathe, to move. I praise him for being my light, my salvation, my strength, my wisdom, my encouragement, and so much more. So, in a sense I do rejoice. However, there are some things I could do that reflects that even more.

Take for instance, cleaning. I have been procrastinating and procrastinating cleaning my house for weeks cuz in my mind, I’m thinking I shouldn’t be the only one to have to do it. I have a husband who is perfectly capable of doing it too. He works full time. I work full time. Though I have summer off, I still shouldn’t be the one to have to do it. That’s NOT the attitude I should have. Sure, it’s our home but God gave it to us. I should pick up that broom, mop, duster, whatever tool I need and start cleaning away because I would be rejoicing in Him! What a concept!

As for trusting in Him, oh yes. I trust him completely. Today Pastor Fry talked about the meaning behind the Lord’s Prayer, that in the first few lines it’s all about God, not about us (at least until we get to the middle of the prayer anyway). He then tied that in to the concept of when you pray, praise HIM first, give him your list of needs, but always trust that God will direct you to where he thinks you need to be. Some of those needs might be for his purpose, which he will recognize, while others, aren’t in your plan. We need to trust in that.

This brings me to QDR. The way I see it, I believe that QDR would give me another opportunity to use my gifts & talents that God created in me and use them for His Glory. I’m sure God agrees with me on that. He just may not want me to go there right now and that’s ok. It really is. I want QDR very badly but what God wants for me, I want more.

So, you see, I needed to hear it today. I needed to hear that I should cherish each day as a gift, rejoice in it, and trust in God’s direction for my life. I needed to hear it not cuz I don’t believe it but because sometimes I just take it all for granted. Not cool!

Thanks, Pastor Fry, for steering me back on track!

Anyone else need some guidance behind the steering wheel of your life? Seek God. He’ll direct you. I promise!

Happy Fourth of July, Everyone! Stay safe & God Bless…

TQF

Comments
6 Responses to “I Needed To Hear It!”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    I know I have so much to be thankful for, and I am trying really hard right now to look at my situation in the proper perspective. It is so easy to praise God when everything is going well, but so much harder when it’s not going well, which life kinda stinks for me right now in a coupla ways. N-E-way… I’m glad you posted this because it gave me food for thought and made me feel better. Please keep me in your thoughts and prayers… that God would direct me in the right paths and actions. Love ya girl! D.

  2. forgetfulone says:

    I know I have so much to be thankful for, and I am trying really hard right now to look at my situation in the proper perspective. It is so easy to praise God when everything is going well, but so much harder when it’s not going well, which life kinda stinks for me right now in a coupla ways. N-E-way… I’m glad you posted this because it gave me food for thought and made me feel better. Please keep me in your thoughts and prayers… that God would direct me in the right paths and actions. Love ya girl! D.

  3. The Quintessential Feline says:

    Hey, Benjamin! I appreciate the heads up on the church web address. I was typing so fast this morning that I didn’t even see it! Silly me πŸ™‚

    I can’t wait to read Pastors Blog once he gets into the swing of it. πŸ˜‰

    Blogs ARE fun!

  4. The Quintessential Feline says:

    Hey, Benjamin! I appreciate the heads up on the church web address. I was typing so fast this morning that I didn’t even see it! Silly me πŸ™‚

    I can’t wait to read Pastors Blog once he gets into the swing of it. πŸ˜‰

    Blogs ARE fun!

  5. bambambenjammin says:

    Hey Lisa,

    I am so glad that you found our little church out in the country. We are trying every week to really reach out and touch people. We want to meet people where they are in life.

    Thanks, too, for the publicity about Pastor’s blog. My name is Benjamin Canady and I am the Minister of Technical Arts at C3 Church. I also act as the administrator for Pastor’s blog. I wanted to make sure that all of your readers found the church’s website. It is http://www.c3church.org . I bet you were unaware of a Chlorine Chemistry Council website at c3.org (I’d kinda like to have that address, you know).

    Thanks for supporting C3 Church and we look forward to serving Christ with you soon!

  6. bambambenjammin says:

    Hey Lisa,

    I am so glad that you found our little church out in the country. We are trying every week to really reach out and touch people. We want to meet people where they are in life.

    Thanks, too, for the publicity about Pastor’s blog. My name is Benjamin Canady and I am the Minister of Technical Arts at C3 Church. I also act as the administrator for Pastor’s blog. I wanted to make sure that all of your readers found the church’s website. It is http://www.c3church.org . I bet you were unaware of a Chlorine Chemistry Council website at c3.org (I’d kinda like to have that address, you know).

    Thanks for supporting C3 Church and we look forward to serving Christ with you soon!

Leave a Reply

  • July 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
