I Have Learned Something

For the past week, and continuing into next week, I’ve been in an intense training workshop so as to become licenced to teach Academically & Intelligently Gifted (AIG) students. School was officially done as of June 8th for the kids, we had a couple of work days thrown in, and now I’m in this training so I’m not quite on summer break. I complained and complained that Break hasn’t started yet but you know what – I have learned something this week…and it feels good!

Teaching the gifted & talented students has become much more complex, at least the preparation has. Back when I was in college (some 15 plus years ago), I remember sitting in a lecture hall and being “told” how to go about teaching these types of students. Lecture after lecture and I still didn’t quite understand it. BUT, in the last 5 days I have learned more than I ever did when I was in college. It kinda makes me want to go back to school…and then I think about the school loans and the testing requirements just to get in and that idea just dwindles REAL fast!

It’s amazing. Some days I love teaching while others, not so much. Maybe it’s all the testing standards, discipline problems, teaching for the standard course of study, old textbooks, old practices still implemented today, old teachers that NEED to retire to let the rest of us do our thing, I don’t know. Whatever it is, it makes me just want to take a break for a while.

My opportunity to take that break comes up this week…potentially. Wednesday is my audition for QDR radio (see last blog entry). I’m so excited about it! My picture & bio will be up on their website this week AND listeners will be able to vote for me come Friday afternoon.

I’ve never done anything like this before. I’m going out on a limb chasing a dream, in a sense, and I’m thrilled to death to have this opportunity. Even on that day, I will have learned something. It’ll be an experience that I will never forget too.

So….VOTE FOR ME at http://www.947qdr.com. I appreciate all support!

Again, I have learned and will learn about something. Brain stimulation is a good thing no matter what drives it. Cool!

‘Til next time…TQF

Comments
2 Responses to “I Have Learned Something”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    Hey girlie! I’ll be joining the ranks of teacher again next year, and I’m looking forward to it. Sixth grade reading and language arts – 3 blocks a day, so fewer papers to grade. I’m also working this summer at Bed, Bath, and Beyond (I love that store!), and I’m learning and enjoying that, too. I wish I could work there and make what I’d make as a teacher. No summer vacations, though, like teaching… but then, with all our classes and workshops, who truly gets a summer break?

    God does answer prayer. I found out about getting both my jobs on the same day! When He answers yes, He answers YES! The no’s aren’t always so clear! Good luck Wednesday! D

  2. forgetfulone says:

    Hey girlie! I’ll be joining the ranks of teacher again next year, and I’m looking forward to it. Sixth grade reading and language arts – 3 blocks a day, so fewer papers to grade. I’m also working this summer at Bed, Bath, and Beyond (I love that store!), and I’m learning and enjoying that, too. I wish I could work there and make what I’d make as a teacher. No summer vacations, though, like teaching… but then, with all our classes and workshops, who truly gets a summer break?

    God does answer prayer. I found out about getting both my jobs on the same day! When He answers yes, He answers YES! The no’s aren’t always so clear! Good luck Wednesday! D

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
