Frustration Justified?

I don’t know if it’s because I’m in desperate need of Spring Break or if it’s because my students do but lately, I have become very frustrated – frustrated with teaching, frustrated with parents, frustrated with students. There’s no doubt in my mind that I’m definitely frustrated with teaching and I may take some time off next year to rekindle the passion I once had for it. As for the parents, I’m not so much frustrated with the lack of involvement in their child’s education. I got over that hump. It’s more or less because of their lack of parenting skills as a whole. I’ll get into that in a second. As far as my students go…well…that deserves a whole paragraph in itself.

I got into teaching to make a difference to the life of a child or the lives of the children that I teach. For the most part, I beleive that I am whole-heartedly doing that. It’s not so much the teaching aspect of teaching that I don’t enjoy. It’s the other stuff that surrounds it and as much as I hate to admit it but, North Carolina public schools are not up to par with districts in other states. NC is so behind the 8-ball that most days I feel I am just dragging along behind the cusp of what I have been able to do in the past. That’s frustrating! And, don’t even get me started on testing. I have never been in a district or a state that requires so much of it. There are days when I just want to pull the breaks and yell “Whoa!!! Enough already!”

Let’s talk about parents. In all my years of teaching I have had the type of parents that are right there with ya, backing you up. I have had parents that are no where to be found and left me wishing they would step up to the plate. It’s those parents that I’m talking about. Where I work now, I have kids who come to school completely unprepared, frazzled, left without focus. Then there’s the issue of hygiene. I cannot for the life of me understand how a parent can send a child off to school with scraggly hair, messy clothing, and, quite frankly, a bit stinky. Now, I know that some people don’t know that they have a B.O. problem but if you are parenting your child correctly, you are truly taking care of them. Get my point?

Students. Maybe I take my class a bit too personally since I don’t have my own kids but when one of them, or as in yesterday’s case, a few of them make the wrong choice, it is so dang disappointing! Drives me nuts!! I had four of some of my most wonderful children make a poor decision in harassing another student. I was upset and I told them as much. Details are not necessary. The bottom line, I was disappointed that it kinda ended my day on a sour note.

So, I am frustrated. Is it justified? Maybe. Maybe not. Depends on how you look at it, I guess. Suffice it to say, I am hoping my outlook and that of my “children” improves between now and Spring Break cuz we have 13 days left until ours. I don’t know that I can deal with it for another 13 days.

Frustrated. Yes.

Comments
2 Responses to “Frustration Justified?”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    Oh my gosh! You could be my twin this last week! I really need to go back to working full time for the income, but I don’t want to for the very reasons you mentioned! I love the kids, and I love teaching, but the other STUFF!!!! Parents, meetings, paperwork, workshops, testing, ugh! I do not want to do that! Why can’t they just let us teach??????

  2. forgetfulone says:

    Oh my gosh! You could be my twin this last week! I really need to go back to working full time for the income, but I don’t want to for the very reasons you mentioned! I love the kids, and I love teaching, but the other STUFF!!!! Parents, meetings, paperwork, workshops, testing, ugh! I do not want to do that! Why can’t they just let us teach??????

Leave a Reply

  • March 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
