Addiction or Release

Addictions. I’ve never had any that I had to worry about, thank God, literally. However, lately, I have become addicted to this computer!

Last week, I was sick in bed with the flu. I spent the entire time on my computer – surfing the net, e-mailing friends, instant messaging, on various message boards, etc. On the one hand it became an addiction. On the other, it was a friend…and I made new friends too!

Another addiction I have – General Hospital. I have been an avid GHer for about 13 years, since 1993 when the character of Sonny Corinthos came aboard. Throughout that time I watched off and on but in 2005, I really got hooked. I record it on DVR on two tv’s (in case one doesn’t work), when I can’t watch the DVR version or I delete it by mistake, I catch GH on Soapnet on the weekend’s. I know it sounds bad but GH is my only vice, the one time of day when I can escape my life (not that my life is bad or anything) and live vicariously through Sam, Emily, Skye…etc. I just love that show!

I love GH so much that I joined numerous message boards in support of it and on one board in particular I have gained several new girlfriends. We dish daily either via IM or on the Board itself…and it’s fun! I have no qualms. These ladies are wonderful gals and I’m blessed that they have entered into my life.

So, do I have an addiction or a release? Oh, who cares! It makes me happy, gives me something else to look forward to, and it’s not like I’m neglecting the rest of my life. Besides, my husband plays on-line poker. If he can have a vice, so can I, right?

Just random thoughts today…

Comments
4 Responses to “Addiction or Release”
  1. HOlly says:

    Lisa, You’re right! Who cares if it is an addiction? We enjoy it! Love, HOlly

  2. HOlly says:

    Lisa, You’re right! Who cares if it is an addiction? We enjoy it! Love, HOlly

  3. forgetfulone says:

    I’ve been watching GH since the early 80’s! In fact, I just finished an episode from last week. I also love AMC and OLTL. I liked PC, but it went off the air. I tape them a few times a week (no DVR yet). It’s my escape. Yes, they’re unrealistic, but they’re supposed to be! I’m actually not fond of reality TV. We have one more thing in common! GH!!!!

  4. forgetfulone says:

    I’ve been watching GH since the early 80’s! In fact, I just finished an episode from last week. I also love AMC and OLTL. I liked PC, but it went off the air. I tape them a few times a week (no DVR yet). It’s my escape. Yes, they’re unrealistic, but they’re supposed to be! I’m actually not fond of reality TV. We have one more thing in common! GH!!!!

Leave a Reply

  • February 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728  
  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
