I Am Making a Difference

It’s nearing the end of a very LONG short week. At school, we had Monday off and tomorrow is a teacher work-day. It’s the end of the 2nd quarter. We are now officially at mid-year, although everywhere else I’ve been, mid-year was at the start of Christmas vacation.

Anyway, I spent today reviewing the topic of segregation & desegragation with my 5th graders. I teach a class of predominantly African American students. There’s a mixture of Hispanic & Caucasian students in there too.

I culminated the week with a video movie about Martin Luther King Jr.’s march from Selma to Montgomery, AL. It was a story about two young black girls who wanted to be a part of the civil rights movement and what they went through during that time. For many of my students, it opened their eyes to “the way things used to be”. We discussed the film afterwards and it was one of THE best discussions we have had all year. By the end of the day, my students really appreciated the fact that I was willing to talk to them about such a hot issue and one they really never understood. I think I even gained a bit more respect from some of them. 🙂

As a teacher, you constantly wonder if you are truly making a difference. A friend of mine reminded me last week that I am even when I think I’m not. Today, I was a witness to that difference on a whole new level and it was refreshing! Most days, I’m tired & cranky from the stresses & strains my job entails. But, this afternoon, I finished the day on a high note. THIS is one of the reasons I teach!

I AM making a difference. Cool.

Comments
2 Responses to “I Am Making a Difference”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    I wanted to comment on your post from Feb 4th, but I kept getting a message “we’re sorry we’re unable to process your request at this time.” Hmmm? Strange.

    I wanted to say, “Way to go 5th graders and way to go Mrs. S!” Great job on the explorers unit. I didn’t know you were teaching 5th grade. I guess I just assumed (I know, I know) you were teaching middle school language arts. Interesting. I like subbing for 4th and 5th grades. I’d actually like to teach that, but I’m secondary certified. Sorry to ramble. Talk to you later.

  2. forgetfulone says:

    I wanted to comment on your post from Feb 4th, but I kept getting a message “we’re sorry we’re unable to process your request at this time.” Hmmm? Strange.

    I wanted to say, “Way to go 5th graders and way to go Mrs. S!” Great job on the explorers unit. I didn’t know you were teaching 5th grade. I guess I just assumed (I know, I know) you were teaching middle school language arts. Interesting. I like subbing for 4th and 5th grades. I’d actually like to teach that, but I’m secondary certified. Sorry to ramble. Talk to you later.

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
