"Me" Time

Time. There isn’t enough time in the world to do all the things that I want to do. I struggle every day with time-management. My typical day – I get up at 5am, have my coffee, eat breakfast, & get ready for work. I’m out the door no later than 6:45am. I travel 35-40mins to work and then as a teacher, I am contracted to work 7:20am-3:20am BUT do I ever get out of there at 3:20? No. Some days I’m there until 4:30 or 5pm (and when it’s daylight savings time, even later). Depending upon what I have to do in the early evenings, I either attend a night course that I take, go home, or run errands before I go home. Once I get home, there’s more work to do – prepare dinner, eat dinner, finish (or start) laundry, pick up around the house, feed the cats. Sometimes it seems as if it never ends. Somewhere in there I’m supposed to fit in quality time for my husband (which, I wholeheartedly WANT to do), grading & preparing for the next days lessons (if I didn’t finish that at school), hanging with friends, working out, and if I am so blessed, squeeze in some “me” time. I can’t forget to fit in the 8 hours of sleep that I need a night too. I’m exhausted just writing all of this. Something’s got to give.

I know. I know. I can combine some of these things like, working out with my husband, which we do try to do sometimes. I could change my career choice, which believe me, in the last few weeks I have been considering. I could even plan some “me” time in each day. That’s where I get frustrated. My “me” time is supposed to be MY time and I should be able to do what I want to do within that time but there’s no time to fit it in. Really.

What do I like to do for my “me” time? I love to read a good novel, work on my own writing, listen to some classical or smooth jazz music; take a bubble bath with a glass of champagne, play golf, go for a walk, journal. The list is endless.

But, it seems as if I never have the time to do want I want to do because I feel guilty if I attempt to even accomplish one of those things. If I take a bath, I neglect my husband (and yes, he could get in there with me but remember, it’s “me” time). If I choose to read a book, I neglect grading papers and so I feel guilty about that. If I work on my own writing, there’s something else I’m neglecting. Again, it’s endless.

So, what on earth am I going to do? I struggle with those thoughts daily. It’s Saturday. No, I don’t have to go to work but I do have work to do. The marking period ends this Thursday and I have a stack of papers to finish grading so I have to tackle some of that. It’s a gorgeous Saturday here in North Carolina too and I want to play nine holes today. I might do that IF I tackle some of those papers. I also want to work on my writing (thus, the reason I’m posting on my Blog). I want to visit with a girl friend of mine that I haven’t seen all week (and we usually see each other one night a week…at least).

So much to do and so little time. I know I’m not the only one and so I thank you for bearing with me as I vented this morning. Time to move on…..

Comments
2 Responses to “"Me" Time”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    We all struggle with “me” time, or lack of it as you stated. The thing is to prioritize. Consider which things aren’t going to make any difference in the big picture of life, and trash those things, whether it’s not grading a certain set of papers, not taking a certain class or training, or whatever. If you don’t carve out time for yourself, your life won’t be rich enough for you to live to your full potential.

  2. forgetfulone says:

    We all struggle with “me” time, or lack of it as you stated. The thing is to prioritize. Consider which things aren’t going to make any difference in the big picture of life, and trash those things, whether it’s not grading a certain set of papers, not taking a certain class or training, or whatever. If you don’t carve out time for yourself, your life won’t be rich enough for you to live to your full potential.

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
