My Last Day of Freedom

Today is my last official day of vacation. I can’t believe it’s over! I suppose at one time or another everyone’s vacation has to eventually be over. Still, I don’t want mine to. I happen to enjoy the days when I don’t have to work. I like getting up when I’m ready to. I like having a cup of coffee (or two), reading the morning paper (or searching for the news on-line), meditating on God’s word, and then starting my day. If my day happens to be all about laundry, cleaning the house, running errands, etc., then so be it! I like that. I like it more, though, when I’m not working.

I am a teacher by trade. I do realize that teachers get more time off than any other profession and for some people, complaining about having to “return to work” is just not right because I have too much time off as it is. It’s to those people that I always tell them that they do not know what they are talking about; those cynics out there that think that teachers have an easy life. News flash – we don’t!

Our days are filled with not only academic lessons to be taught but now we are more in charge of character education than we ever were (thanks to those parents who don’t know how to parent!), meetings, responding to parent concerns, preparing activities for the aforementioned lessons, additional various duties that are required outside of the classroom (and that we don’t get paid for either!), GRADING, etc. If all we had to do was teach the lessons, grade the work, & prepare for the next day, it would be a lot more enjoyable to do. Instead, year after year our responsbilities get to be more while parental responsibilities are left unnoticed (from a political standpoint that is. Think “No Child Left Behind” act. Where’s the parental accountability in that??).

Anyway, I didn’t mean to go on a tangent here. I have become a cynical member of my profession…and I HATE that! I love to teach. Maybe next year I just need to switch my environment? Maybe I’ll take a year or two off from it?? Maybe I’ll become an advocate for other teachers out there and enter into a political foray of some sort? Better yet – maybe I’ll finally finish that first book I have been writing, get it published, it’ll be a best seller, and I’ll never have to teach again, unless I want to! Now…that would be fabulous!!

OK, I’ll shut up now. I’m going to enjoy my last day of freedom to do whatever I choose. I’m going to enjoy my last day of vacation…

Comments
2 Responses to “My Last Day of Freedom”
  1. forgetfulone says:

    I hear ya! I am so happy subbing because I actually get to TEACH! No workshops, preparations, grading, parent calls, state tests, character education, politics, paperwork, counseling, parenting, doctoring the kids, etc. to deal with. The worst thing is that people who are not educators make all the decisions affecting educators and their students.

    I make very little money subbing, but I love the kids, and I can choose when to work and still do my volunteer work. I know that feeling of dreading going back to work. I hope you had a great day today so tomorrow won’t be quite as dreadful as you imagine it. Keep up the good work, teach! We need you!

  2. forgetfulone says:

    I hear ya! I am so happy subbing because I actually get to TEACH! No workshops, preparations, grading, parent calls, state tests, character education, politics, paperwork, counseling, parenting, doctoring the kids, etc. to deal with. The worst thing is that people who are not educators make all the decisions affecting educators and their students.

    I make very little money subbing, but I love the kids, and I can choose when to work and still do my volunteer work. I know that feeling of dreading going back to work. I hope you had a great day today so tomorrow won’t be quite as dreadful as you imagine it. Keep up the good work, teach! We need you!

Leave a Reply

  • My Business Card

    Lisa on Cardly
